And Our First Baccalaureate Degree Goes To…

This December, Rebecca Hayward, a secondary education and mathematics major, will make history by becoming the very first undergraduate student to receive a baccalaureate degree from the College of Education.

Allison Hayward (Arts '07) and Rebecca Hayward (Educ '09)

This milestone event derives from the fact that until July 1, 2008,  all Education majors earned their baccalaureate degrees through either the Way-Klingler College of  Arts and Sciences or the Diederich College of Communication.   That date marked the official shift in name from the School of Education to the College of Education and the authorization for the “new” academic unit to grant its own baccalaureate degree.   So although teachers have been prepared at Marquette since 1921 and have been certified by the School of Education since 1971, our academic unit has never had a baccalaureate degree completer of its own.  So, Rebecca’s receipt of the degree will indeed be historic.

About Our First Recipient

Rebecca, who completed her course work at Marquette in only three and a half years, knew that she wanted to be a teacher early on.  As a senior at Andrew High School in Tinley Park, IL, she prepared for her future career by completing a teaching internship.  She also got a head start on her college course work by taking 15 general education credits at the local community college.

During her time at Marquette, Rebecca not only dedicated herself to her academic work in math and education, but she also found time to volunteer as a tutor at the Milwaukee Rescue Mission.  She  is currently finishing her student teaching experience at Milwaukee High School of the Arts.

We asked Rebecca to share some of her thoughts with us, and here’s what she had to say.

It’s so very appropriate that the first official graduate of the College of Education would be a woman, since this is the year of the Women’s Centennial celebration at Marquette.  Tell us a bit about your experience as a woman at Marquette.  What does it mean to you?

Having the experience to attend and graduate from Marquette has allowed me the opportunity to have a choice. I can not only decide what I am passionate about, but I can learn and develop that passion. Marquette has been a great home for my experiences over the past 3 1/2 years and has helped me begin to develop as an educator. Thanks to Marquette’s radical spirit 100 years ago attendance here  is an opportunity that has been afforded not only to me, but also to generations of my female contemporaries.

Tell us a bit about your experience in the College of Education.  What set your time at Marquette apart?

What I have enjoyed the most about my time at Marquette has been the hands on experience with education. Since my first semester of service learning, until my current student teaching experience, I have had the opportunity to interact with students and the ability to learn and grow from that time. I have had the ability to work face to face with students and see the effects my actions can have on them. In addition, I have been able to work with multiple teachers in the field and have taken at least one thing from each of them that I will use in my future classroom.

In my classes, I have found professors who are great role models for me. They have given me ideas and insight into the teaching profession. My supervisor this semester has been a great source of support.In her (or him), I have found someone who I can turn to with questions and go to for ideas.

You’ll be entering the teaching field officially in January.  As a teacher, what do you hope most to be able to bring to your classroom?

In my future classroom, I would like to have high expectations for my students. I hope to push them  so that they eventually want to know more without me having to ask for more. That expectation has to remain at that level the whole time or students will never develop a desire to strive for it. I have been given the opportunity to come to Marquette and had a great support system behind me pushing me to do my best. Not all students have this push of support and if I can help give at least one student that nudge toward greatness, I’ll have accomplished a great deal.

In addition, I have learned through my student teaching experience to never take any student at face value. Every student has a story and it is important to have an understanding of what they bring with them each day to the classroom.

1 Response to “And Our First Baccalaureate Degree Goes To…”



  1. 1 The VERY Long Wait Is Over… « The Marquette Educator Trackback on December 21, 2009 at 10:07 am

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 668 other followers

