Your Spring Break Read!

Divergent_film_posterSpring break is almost here, even though the weather outside is still frightful. And the College of Ed wants to give YOU a break from all your required reading!

Back in December, we interviewed Molly O’Neill, a 2000 graduate of the College of Education who has worked at Harper Collins and is now employed at Storybird. While at Harper Collins, Molly edited the bestselling Divergent trilogy which is now coming to the big screen on March 21st.

In case you missed it, here’s our Q&A with Molly. It’s a great read — and shows how a Marquette education really prepares you for a variety of professions.

But it gets better!  The College of Ed has five more copies of Divergent to give away. You have until midnight tonight (Tuesday, March 4, 2014), to leave a comment on this post. You can tell us if you’re going to see the movie or what your plans are for break! We’ll randomly select five people from all posted comments, and winners can pick up their copy of the book in SC 146 tomorrow! Check back for more giveaways of the second book in the series, Insurgent, the week of March 17th and just in time for

Good luck and enjoy your break!

17 Responses to “Your Spring Break Read!”


  1. 1 Ashley Beaudoin March 4, 2014 at 11:05 am

    I will be staying in snowy Wisconsin over break…hopefully reading this book 🙂

    Like

  2. 2 Lindsay Baranowski March 4, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Snowy Wisconsin for me too 🙂 maybe a cup of hot coffee to go with a book?

    Like

  3. 3 Meredith Reinhardt March 4, 2014 at 11:23 am

    I will be headed to the tropical destination of Ames, Iowa! I have heard great things about Divergent and cannot wait to read it!

    Like

  4. 4 Amanda Engel March 4, 2014 at 11:32 am

    I would plan to read it by the pool over break.

    Like

  5. 5 Sarah Pawlowski March 4, 2014 at 11:41 am

    I am going to Disney World! This book looks so good!

    Like

  6. 6 Tim McAuliff March 4, 2014 at 11:54 am

    Heading down to Texas with my best friends for the week. Finally get some warm weather and get to swim outside at a lake house.

    Like

  7. 7 Alejandra Montes March 4, 2014 at 11:58 am

    I will be heading to Florida for spring break. This could be a great book to read on the flight 🙂

    Like

  8. 8 Hannah Guth March 4, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    I’ll be here in Wisconsin student teaching over break but hopefully I will have this to look forward to after school!!

    Like

  9. 9 Taylor smith March 4, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    I will be in Milwaukee for the first half of break. We have a lacrosse game on Wednesday against Coastal Carolina( attendance is encouraged) and then we leave for Boston on Thursday to play Harvard on Saturday. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a book to read while traveling!

    Like

  10. 10 Jess March 4, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    The whole concept of having a fun book to read is all I can think about since I saw this blog post this morning. I can’t wait to read this book hopefully over spring break!

    Like

  11. 11 Lauren Houg March 4, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    I can’t wait for spring break so I can finally cuddle up at home in chilly Minnesota with a cup of coffee reading Divergent. The only thing missing from this perfect scene is a copy of the book… ❄️☕️📖🙏

    Like

  12. 12 Juliena Herritz March 4, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    Going on my first M.A,P. trip this break! Can’t wait for the 17 hour drive to Missouri. Definitely looking for a book to read!

    Like

  13. 13 Beth Mannella March 4, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    I am heading to Seattle for 2 days then going to Portland for 3 days — I would LOVE to read this book (especially on a 5 hour flight and 3 hour bus ride)!! I have heard wonderful things about this series and as a Hunger Games fan, I am sure I would enjoy these books. Thanks for hosting such a great giveaway – we all appreciate this opportunity!

    Like

  14. 14 Claire Revord March 4, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    I’ll be in Disney World hopefully soaking up some sun and reading by the pool!

    Like

  15. 15 Erika Strecok March 4, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    I will still be in Wisconsin, hopefully with this book and a few movies and catching up on some much needed sleep!

    Like

  16. 16 James Ragen March 4, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    Looking forward to reading a new book over winter break!

    Like

  17. 17 Laura Choe March 4, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    Thinking about break is just exhilarating! I’ll most definitely be getting a ton of sleep. Most of all, I’m excited to just relax with a good read. Divergent has been on my To-read list for a long time!

    Like


Leave a comment




What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives