Counting My Blessings

By Sabrina Bong — Every year before Thanksgiving dinner, my family goes around the table and says what they are thankful for.

It’s a tradition that I love because it forces me to take a minute and really reflect on the blessings in my life. So often, I go through life without thinking about how fortunate I am to have so many wonderful people and opportunities surrounding me.

This year, however, I am sure it will be different.

Having spent almost an entire year at my internship site, I have seen firsthand how lucky I have been. There are students at my school who have parents that are completely indifferent towards them. There are students who have friends who do not have their best interests in heart, or people who are in manipulative, abusive relationships. Some students struggle to understand basic concepts; others must deal with being teased and bullied for their beliefs. Every day I am at my site, I am reminded of how blessed I am in my life.

I am fortunate enough to be receiving a top-notch education from a university that truly feels like my home away from home. In addition, I am receiving this education from professors who are passionate about what they do. Their enthusiasm is infectious and makes me want to learn more about the subject. I remember thinking that my Assessment class would be really boring, (learning how to administer and score tests … doesn’t sound like my cup of tea!) but Dr. Fox taught it in such a way that I found myself looking forward to each class. So, I am thankful for my teachers, both past and present, as well as Marquette for giving me this opportunity to learn.

I am also incredibly lucky to have two parents who believe in me wholeheartedly and encourage me to follow my dreams. Whenever I hear about students of mine who have parents who are not interested in their lives, it saddens me. My parents and I may not agree on everything, but I know that they are a part of my cheering section! Without their guidance and support, I would not have come this far. This year, I am so thankful for my parents for being there for me.

I am thankful that I have loyal friends who are always looking out for my best interests, and a boyfriend who loves and respects me for me and laughs at my jokes (even when they aren’t funny.) These amazing people have given me thoughtful advice, celebrated my triumphs, and sympathized with me when I struggled. I am also grateful to be in class with 19 of the most amazing women I have ever met. I feel so fortunate that I have been able to learn and grow with them.

I am blessed to work with professional school counselors who never hesitate to give me advice or help me out of a situation that goes above my head, and an administration that truly respects the counseling field. I hope to someday work in a school that is as cohesive and motivated.

Finally, I am forever thankful for the four girls who are a part of the School Counseling program with me: Heather, Meghan, Courtney, and Meghan. They have watched me laugh, cry, panic, hand in ridiculously long papers, and gush about the students I work with. I couldn’t imagine myself taking on this counseling journey with anyone else!

0 Responses to “Counting My Blessings”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


