Late: Lessons Learned

SixBy Dana Berens — I started student teaching last Monday and could not have been anymore excited to get into the classroom.

I laid out my outfit Sunday afternoon, organized my planner, and prepared a lunch. I had been into visit my classroom the week before to help prep and could not wait to match the students faces with the self-portraits on the lockers and stories from the teachers.

The day before I began student teaching I got a new phone. My old one did not generate any sound, and thus I was out of luck with an alarm clock. I set my alarm for 6:30 am, as to have plenty of time to get to school at 8 am and settle in before students come at 9 am.

Monday morning rolls around and I groggily yawn awake. I could not believe I was up before my alarm. I hit my phone to check the time and felt like I was on the downward slope of a roller coaster as my stomach and heart dropped.  I darted out of bed into a roommates room to ask the time, they assured me it was still 8 am, which momentarily calmed me, only to have them all check their phones and mirror my horrors of my being late on my first day of teaching.  I truly thought this was a bad dream, but alas it was not, as I had missed calls from my mother and my cooperating teacher.

I ran back to my room to quickly throw the laid out outfit on. Time was moving too quickly, and myself too slowly. I called the school to tell them I was on my way, grabbed my lunch and ran out the door. Luckily, my school is within walking distance, so from waking up to getting to school was only about 20 minutes, but it felt like an eternity.

When I got to school I joined in with the class, and was able to explain to my cooperating teacher the reason I was late during a morning break. My new phone alarm had not gone off, and I could not be more mortified or sorry. She was so kind and reassured me it was OK. On top of that she had written me the sweetest card and made me a welcome treat.  Instead of ruining my day, she made me feel so welcomed as her kindness allowed me to move past the horrors and nervousness and allowed me to be comfortable even with the circumstances of being late.

While the morning was not my ideal way of beginning my student teaching experience, I did take away a few lessons.

  • First, never touch new buttons on a phone unless you know what they do- I had hit the side of my iPhone only to silence the whole phone.
  • Second, being prepared the night before is a saving grace.
  • And finally, establishing a relationship with your cooperating teacher before you begin teaching is beneficial.

In the following week and a half since my fateful morning, I have been on time to planning before school, and warmly welcomed into the 1st grade community.

2 Responses to “Late: Lessons Learned”


  1. 1 thepreppyrunner January 25, 2013 at 9:20 am

    Oh goodness! I can totally relate. During student teaching, I carpooled with another person who was in the building and I remember he called me at 7:30am waiting outside my apartment building and I was still asleep! I’m still pretty thankful for that experience. I haven’t been late since! It’s definitely a rite of passage for all teachers. 🙂

    Like


  1. 1 Student Teaching: More Mistakes and Lessons Learned | The Marquette Educator Trackback on February 22, 2013 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


