For the Kids

By Ashley McFadin — After I read Sabrina’s post this week about finding the right profession, I immediately scrapped my tech tools post for this week.

differentiation

What she wrote about resonated quite loudly with me. You see, the week before spring break is a rough time for teachers and students alike. After having two nights (in a row) of parent teacher conferences, having three more work days seemed impossible.

But, my students have made this difficult week great.

With all of the educational trends that are out there in the world, it’s easy to forget that students are the number one priority. Although the newest way to teach touts itself as being the “best way to teach our students in a 21st century world,” we have to remember that our students are not experiments.

I love what I do and I strongly believe I was born to be a teacher. My students are a huge part of my life and every decision I make stems from wanting to do what’s best for them. If using the computers and technology available is the best option, then we’ll use them. If using construction paper to create a timeline of atomic theory is best for them, then we’ll break out the markers, rulers, and paper.

What do you base your differentiation and teaching decisions on?

0 Responses to “For the Kids”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


