Using Pinterest in the Classroom

pinitBy Ashley McFadin — I have a confession to make – I am a Pinterest-addict.

While I love it for personal use, I had recently been thinking more on how to utilize it in my classroom. Then, one fateful day, a colleague of mine (she teaches German) came into my room and started talking about the same thing!

We collaborated on what we would put on our school Pinterest boards and the rest is history.

You see, the large majority of my female students use it and my male students know about Pinterest.

In addition, I’ve caught many students on Pinterest during class so why not have something educational on there?  I decided to take the plunge and create a new account (using my school email address) just for my classroom.

SciencePinterest

I decided to create separate “boards” for each unit. So, for our chemistry semester, there are four units so four boards. Within each board, I have “pinned” helpful sites for students to check out.  I also created a study skill board just in case. 🙂

Here is Beth’s, the German teacher, Pinterest page. You’ll see how she’s divided up her boards by concept rather than unit:

GermanPinterest

I feel as if this is extremely valuable for secondary teachers for classroom use. Many times, students will not check the class website, but if they follow your board, then helpful pins will pop up every now and then on their feed. In addition, they’re more likely to be on social media rather making an effort to check the class website.

How do you use social media in your classroom?

1 Response to “Using Pinterest in the Classroom”


  1. 1 tcuknapp March 30, 2013 at 10:57 am

    This is one of those ‘how did I not think of this before?’ ideas. Obviously it will work for some classes, or grades, and not others, but an interesting suggestion to consider nonetheless. Thanks for the intuitive thinking.

    Like


Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


