Teacher Tears

tearBy Dana Berens — I’ve finally had my first “teacher tears.”

The fact is, it’s just been one of those weeks where the silver linings have been hard to find.

As I get bombarded with the work of submitting licensure applications in two states, applying for jobs, asking for letters of recommendation, tweaking my resume and cover letters. I am also planning a unit plan, getting observed, up to my eyeballs in grading, and planning for the following week.

While this is a typical week in the life of any student teacher, the added difficulties of nice weather, all of my friends completing their undergraduate careers, and missing out on senior week activities are weighing on me. While this is an inevitable tragedy in any Marquette Education students senior career, the added bonus of my students being off the walls this week has absolutely drained me….and it is only Wednesday.

While they are cute, sweet, loveable first graders, the constant back talk, tattling, and tantrums have been to an all time high this week.

So, why am I still going back instead of faking a rare disease?

Because while I feel like I am loosing my mind and my sanity- I still miss it on the weekends…call me crazy.

The silver lining pushing me through?

  • Being in the home stretch of my college career
  • The “ah-ha” moment I see when a student understands a concept we have been working on for weeks
  • The pride in the student’s eyes, face, and body language when they read their writing aloud to the class
  • The joyful thrill of reaching the epitome of a days perfect behavior- super student- and receiving a piece of candy.

While all of my friends are wrapping their semesters up Friday, I wrap mine up in June. But, while that extra six weeks might seem daunting when I glance at it in my planning book, I know that, in reality, it will fly right by.

Better pay attention while it lasts.

1 Response to “Teacher Tears”


  1. 1 Janna May 3, 2013 at 9:55 am

    Hang in there. I think the two most stressful years of teaching for me were the student teaching because I was working 20 hours a week as well and the first year I taught full time. You can do it!

    Like


Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


