Walking Into the Unknown

change-resistance_monster

By Sabrina Bong — Change. Mahatma Gandhi instructed everyone to “be the change you wish to see in the world.”

President Barack Obama said, “Change will not come if we wait for some other person, or if we wait for some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.” In the book Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher writes, “You can’t stop the future, you can’t rewind the past, the only way to learn the secret … is to press play.”

Change is subjective to everyone, but for me, change is never easy. It requires leaving your comfort zone and walking down a path that you have never traveled before. Similar to what Jay Asher wrote, you can’t prevent things from changing. You can’t go back and change what you already did. All you can do is step forward in the moment.

For some, like me, this is difficult. Going into the unknown is a little frightening and overwhelming at times.

There are a lot of changes coming up in the next few months. I will be starting my job as a middle school counselor in September, which is a notion that is pretty new to me. I have always been a student, holding down a couple of part-time jobs to help pay for school expenses. Now, I’ll be going out into the “real world” and spending my time there. As exciting as it is to be joining such a wonderful staff, it’s also a little scary. Will I be good at my job? Will the students like me? Will I be able to stay calm in a crisis?

In addition, people are changing around me as well. My best friend is getting married in September, which will be a change for both of us. She’s moving out to Virginia to be with her husband, who is in the military. This will be her first major move, and the first time that we will be living in totally separate states. Even though we have lived about 100 + miles apart for the past six or seven years, it was reassuring to know that she was only two and a half hours away if I ever needed her in a crisis.

I remember when I was seven, I was so excited to be an adult. It seemed as though I would never reach the age where I’d be driving a car, working a “real” job, or spending my weekends hanging out with my friends. I yearned for change. But now that I’m at that age, I wonder where all the time went, and why I was so eager to rush through it. Despite all these worries about times changing, I also find it reassuring to look back and see how many moments of change I made it through. Going to high school. Going to college. Figuring out how to live on my own without my parents. If I can make it through those major transitions, I’m sure I’ll be just fine for the others.

0 Responses to “Walking Into the Unknown”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


