The World’s Hardest Job

By Christie Hyland — There’s a viral video that shows people interviewing for a position via video chat.

The job requires you to work 24 hours a day, seven days a week. There are no breaks and you don’t get paid. The interviewer says nonchalantly, “If you have a life, we ask you to give that life up.” The prospects are turned-off and shocked at the requirements only to find out that people actually have this job: moms!

You can watch the video here:

It’s true: being a parent is the hardest job in the world. As we scurry to purchase cards and gifts for Mom this Sunday, we should also take a few minutes to really think about all our mothers (or fathers, step-parents, grandparents, etc.) have done and do for us.

My mom was a single mom who raised me while working full-time. I can’t imagine how difficult and exhausting that must have been; going to school full-time with no children is pretty hard to handle for me! I don’t know how she did it, but she did. She supported my various endeavors, including being the first in my family to attend college and graduate school. Her support and encouragement along the way has meant so much to me. She makes so many sacrifices for me and others in her life; she’s the most selfless person I know.

Throughout the years, my mom has shown me what independence, optimism, and perseverance look like. Thanks to my mom, these qualities are now a part of me. When I think about my identity as a woman and a future counselor, I know that each of those identities was shaped by her.

Have you reflected on your mom’s influence yet? I recommend it.

But don’t stop there–let your mom know how special she is, and how important she is to you, on Mother’s Day and every day. Maybe your mother wasn’t as influential or positive a presence in your life. Think about who has supported you, influenced you, or touched your life in a meaningful way. Be sure to thank them and share your appreciation.

0 Responses to “The World’s Hardest Job”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


