My Journey So Far as an #MUEducator

Im-so-excitedBy Amanda Szramiak — Words cannot describe how excited I am to officially be considered a “blogger.” I keep telling people I “blog,” and I feel so hip.

But, since this is my very first blog post,  I thought I’d start by telling you a little bit about myself and my journey so far as a Marquette Educator.

I came to Marquette in the fall of 2011 not knowing exactly what I was going to do with my life. I was not sure of what I should make for breakfast let alone decide my career path. I started off a Communications Studies student.  I thought I would get a variety of knowledge and options from this pretty broad major. I went back and forth my freshman and sophomore year deciding if I should stay in the College of Communications or switch.

One day, I was at my home helping my eleven-year-old sister with her homework. We were doing math, and Cassidy finally “got” the material she was struggling with.

You know those moments in life when you stop and say, “AH-HA!” ??  That was one of those moments for both of us.

When I got back to school, I went to meet with the Undergrad Advisor, Tina McNamara, and I knew I was doing the right thing.

Can I give a shout-out in my blog post? Because if I can Mrs. McNamara definitely deserves one!

In the College of Communications, I never had that relationship with my advisor, and I never really felt quite right. But, once I had that meeting, I felt at home.

Even though changing my major late set me back for graduation, I could not be happier with my career choice. And, with every education course I take, I fall more in love with my major. I look forward to sharing my love for education with all of you!

0 Responses to “My Journey So Far as an #MUEducator”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


