Going Along for the Ride

from the blog www.stuckincustoms.comBy Clare Jorgensen – Preparing for my field experience feels like I’m preparing for a big trip.

I’m making up appropriate outfits, I’m mentally picturing what the classroom will look like, and I’m getting any supplies ready that I might need. Like any “trip,” I have a mental itinerary showing how everything should go, and I know I must get as much as possible out of this experience. Any trip should be fun and fulfilling, and I should be able to experience something new.

This mental image is of course the ideal situation where I have a grasp on everything when I get there, but I know that will not be the case.

The truth is that I have no idea what is going to happen when I am at the high school I have been assigned to this semester. While I may dream of an absolutely perfect classroom where all the students will be attentive and have halos over their heads, I must grasp reality. After all, I am going through field experience so I have the opportunity to visualize what I must do when I become a teacher. This may include how I deal with students or how I teach certain lessons. It would be amazing if I knew what was going to happen this semester at the high school, but time machines do not exist yet.

I need to have an open-mind and use what I have been taught in the last year in order to get the most out of the experience. It is important to prepare for many mistakes and to learn from those mistakes. This will be a fun and fulfilling experience, and like the trip I imagined, I know I will experience something new and exciting, but there is of course more to it.

Instead of imagining myself going on a planned trip, I should think of this experience as an unexpected road trip. I will not know what turns I will take, and there will be some bumps along the way. However, I will enjoy the ride and realize at the end how important and fun the experience was.

All I have to do now is get in that car and start the engine.

0 Responses to “Going Along for the Ride”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


