The Adventure

58616872By Taylor Gall  — College is stressful.

Why, it was just a few weeks ago that I laid down in the back of my car after observing and listened to the Arthur theme song and shed a tear or two, thinking of nothing but the three papers and two tests I had to study for.

Now, Arthur can only do so much for me. I mean he’s an armadillo and I don’t know if he’s legally allowed to solicit advice to a struggling college student/student worker/board chair/sorority member/student blogger/secret nighttime crime fighter. He was, however, a childhood favorite and was what I wanted in my time of stress.

There comes a point in every college student’s career (or maybe this is a daily occurrence for some) when they are in over their heads. There is always another paper to finish up, another group project to begin, another phone call to make, another friend to call, and another email to respond to. There are mornings I wake up and stare at my ceiling and say:

“OH GOD WHY. THERE ARE MILLIONS OF PEOPLE DOING COOL THINGS IN SYDNEY AND PARIS AND BEIJING, BUT I’M HERE IN MY FLANNEL PJS, FEELING UNDER-PREPARED AND OVERWHELMED. I CAN’T FIND MY LEFT SNEAKER AND HAVEN’T GONE GROCERY SHOPPING IN 2 WEEKS, SO I’M EATING MARINARA SAUCE FOR BREAKFAST.”

There are plenty of days that I question myself as a student and as a young adult. It’s difficult to hear about my friends’ adventures abroad and my peers’ adventures in the “real world beyond college” and not wonder why I’m slaving away in a fluorescent-lit library so that I can write yet another seven page lesson plan that my students might not even like.

There is a big old world out there, and I feel like I am missing out on it. I know for a bonafide FACT that I am missing out on it. There are flamencos being danced and mountains being climbed. There are camels being ridden and adventures being had, but I remain here in my armchair in the College of Education lounge.

But here is the thing that I/we/you need to remember when you get a case of the “missing outs”:

By missing out on THAT, you are able to experience THIS…

-You are able to wake up every morning to a campus of 12,000 students just like you.

-You are able to walk around a campus where people know your name, where there are people who genuinely care for you.

-You are able to live in one of the weirdest and most fun little cities around.

-You are able to be a silly young adult and do things like go on ice cream runs at 3am and hang out with your friends every second of every day.

-You are learning about the world in classes taught by awesome professors.

-You are able to get a great education that will help you change the world one day.

-You have been told a million times and it is true: College is the most unique and exciting four years of your life, so live it up. Enjoy it while you can.

You may not be climbing a mountain (you may just be climbing the stairs in the AMU), but you’re in the adventure of a lifetime and you don’t even know it. Seize your adventure every day, breakfast of marinara sauce and all!

0 Responses to “The Adventure”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


