Shaking Off My Summertime Sadness

summer-timeBy Taylor Gall – For the first time in my school career, I am sad for school to be over.

It’s crazy, I know, but I wish with every fiber of my being that this year wasn’t coming to a close. Of course I’m excited to be done with my finals and to put all of the stressors of school behind me, but this has hands down been the best year of my life, and I don’t want it to ever end.

This year, I have turned 21, bonded with my students, and finally settled into the true role of being “Miss Gall.” I’ve made so many new friends, I’ve joined clubs and committees, I’ve made change on my campus, and I have truly fallen in love with Marquette.

As a freshman in college, I attended a small Catholic college near Green Bay, and at the end of that year, I felt an immense sense of relief as I drove away from its small campus for the last time. I had been anxiously awaiting the summer that was ahead of me: three months of working in a small garden center near my home, hanging out with my high school friends, and lounging on my back porch. I wasn’t going to miss the campus or my friends, and, quite frankly, I was excited to never go back.

Two years and one school transfer later, I can’t believe I ever felt that way. Even though I’m spending my summer living on Marquette’s campus and planning many Milwaukee-centered adventures, I am so sad for school to be ending. I have grown to love my new home and my new community, and it is difficult to imagine a time in my life when I wasn’t a golden eagle.

I’m sad to say goodbye to my professors, to lose the hustle and bustle that comes along with school time at Marquette. I’ll miss my friends that are going home for the summer, and I am admittedly terrified to openly acknowledge that I am entering into my SENIOR year of college.

Yet, despite my case of summertime sadness, I know that I have plenty of great times to come in this upcoming academic year. Senior year, just like my junior year, will be filled with lots of “firsts,” as well as a few “lasts” (to imagine that a year from now I will have finished my last undergraduate classes is INSANE), and plenty of wonderful moments and people to share them with.

Summer, I am ready for you.

0 Responses to “Shaking Off My Summertime Sadness”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


