Creativity in the Classroom: What’s It Good For?

colored-pencils-374146_640By Amanda Szramik – In a previous post, I talked about standardized tests and the ways in which they can absolutely destroy a student’s view of education.

Ken Robinson discusses ways that schools fail to test, acknowledge, and nurture creativity. Robinson express, “My contingent is that creativity, now, is as important in education as literacy.” Although an incredibly bold statement, Robinson recognizes the ways in which education simply does not appreciate and/or foster a student’s creative outlets. Later on in the talk, Robinson explains, “Picasso once said this, he said that all children are born artists. The problem is to remain an artist as we grow up. I believe this passionately, that we don’t grow into creativity, we grow out of it. Or rather, we get educated out of it.”

I think of myself being a pretty creative person. However, I don’t remember any of my creativeness coming from school. My mom would take me to Michael’s, and she would let me get paint, yarn, and anything to foster my creative self. She would let me decorate the cupcakes we made any way I wanted to.

It makes me sad to think that none of my creative tendencies came from school. I will say I was able to express my learning in one class in college for my writing center manifesto project. Other than that single class, I have never been able to express my knowledge in a creative, outside-of-the-textbook way.

Looking at my future classroom, I hope I can offer students different ways to express their knowledge about particular topics. While I know I will not be able to have my students draw a picture for every assessment, I hope to foster students’ creative spirits. I want to let students’ creative sides come out in their education because not all students have my mom to let them decorate cupcakes.

1 Response to “Creativity in the Classroom: What’s It Good For?”


  1. 1 ashtuesday October 1, 2015 at 2:12 pm

    You worry that your creativity didn’t come from school, but I wonder if it ever could have. I firmly believe creativity can’t be taught. We can, however, provide opportunities in our classrooms for our students to exercise their creativities. I wonder how creativity could possibly be assessed – I cringe whenever a student takes the ordinary, easy way out of an assignment, but don’t know if deducting points for creativity could really fly in my school!

    Like


Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


