Five of My Favorite Places on Campus

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetBy Parker Lawson – It’s mid-October of my freshman year here at Marquette and as midterm season is in full swing, I am always in search of the most perfect spots to study and unwind on campus. Over the last few weeks, I’ve bopped around “sampling” study places and I can now say with confidence, that I’ve found my favorites. Below, I have shared five of the best places to study or just chill on campus.

  • Joan of Arc Chapel: It’s no wonder everyone loves Joan of Arc. It truly is as special as people make it out to be. I love bringing my homework and working on the benches outside of the chapel, or just sitting and relaxing in between classes. The landscaping outside of Joan of Arc is beautiful and reminds me of the flowers in our gardens back home. Being in a busy city, its always awesome to find little areas filled with flowers and greenery.Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
  • Haggerty Museum of Art: This is one of my very favorite places on campus. If you haven’t visited or taken a quick look inside, I highly recommend it. I love going after class to Haggerty just to look around and relax. Creativity explodes here, and my mind is stimulated and inspired when viewing so much art and witnessing such amazing talent.  If you’re ever in need of a change of scenery, without going off campus, Haggerty is the most perfect place to visit. I feel so lucky to have such a special place just a short walk from my dorm.
  • Schroeder Field: Whether you have more to study, or just want to kick a soccer ball around, the field behind Abbottsford is a great place to bring friends. A couple of floor mates and I love to spread out a blanket and have a picnic while we finish homework. Especially during Fall, the trees are beautiful colors, and the squirrels will always keep you company!  Schroeder field is a perfect pick for a casual game of football, or frisbee, too.Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
  • Outskirts of Memorial Library: If you’re a quiet studier like I am, one of the greatest places is pretty unknown and hidden. After walking through the bridge to Memorial library, turn left at the desk and keep walking. On your left, through all the books, is the most quiet and perfect environment for those long study periods. I love this area because there’s so much room on each desk, and the silence keeps me focused. Sometimes the best places are the hidden ones.Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
  • Tables Outside Raynor Library: Last, but certainly not least, one of the best (and possibly my favorite) places is the tables outside Raynor. I’ll take my homework there, but my favorite thing to do is journal. I journal daily, and this spot is my perfect journaling spot. I love going mid-afternoon right after students have settled into their classes. All you can hear are the beautiful leaves blowing in the breeze and the sight of Joan of Arc in the background is the best. This spot is one that most people just walk past, but it’s a perfect place to plant yourself and think, work, or just relax.

So before we’re hit with another Midwestern winter here in Milwaukee, be sure to enjoy these special Marquette study spots this fall and see for yourself what makes them so special.

0 Responses to “Five of My Favorite Places on Campus”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


