Why I Love the College of Ed

616517482f8b4b61bb5191a369a52166By Aubrey Murtha – My decision to become a teacher has been, without a doubt, one of the single best decisions I have ever made.  I wholeheartedly believe that teachers are the reason that we are students here at Marquette University; sometime during our youth, some teacher encouraged us to reach for the stars, to recognize our full academic potential, and to explore avenues of intellectual and personal discovery that ultimately propelled us to excel in ways we never imagined possible.  One of our teachers told us we could, and so we did.  And now, we are here studying at this amazing academic institution.

I want to that be that person in a young adult’s life.  So, three years ago, I decided to pursue degrees in secondary education and writing intensive English here at Marquette University.  My main home on campus is the College of Education, located over in good old Schroeder.  Since my first class in the College of Ed, Introduction to Education in Diverse Society with Professor Miller, I have felt the profound connection that my professors have with their subjects.  It takes a very passionate human being to teach young people how to be successful, motivated and effective teachers for Milwaukee’s inner-city youth, and the faculty and staff in the College of Ed have been nothing short of fully invested in our growth and development as blooming new teachers.

In conjunction with these meaningful classroom experiences at Marquette, each one of us teachers-in-training gets several opportunities to complete semester-long service learning experiences, field placements, and eventually, a semester-long student-teaching assignment.  For me, these professional experiences outside of the Marquette community have been invaluable.  Not only have I had the chance to learn from teachers who are effectively teaching groups of students in Milwaukee schools, but I have also been able to develop skills that will enable me to be successful at my student-teaching placement senior year and in the work force following my time here at Marquette.  I am very grateful for the relationships I have made with my students and cooperating teachers and the opportunities I have had to experience different learning environments throughout the city of Milwaukee.

So, I guess this is a thank you.  A thank you to the College of Education at Marquette, to my intelligent professors, to my talented and enthusiastic classmates, to the interesting and dynamic cooperating teachers with whom I have had the privilege of working, and to the sassy 17-year-old reason that I am doing this job–my current crop of students.   I cannot wait to see where this goes, and I am so confident that the College of Education will make sure that I am ready to mold young minds and change young lives.

I am a Marquette Education major.  I am Marquette.

0 Responses to “Why I Love the College of Ed”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


