Patience: An Underestimated Virtue

6477009555_b919e54cefBy Parker Lawson – Looking back at the past seven-ish years of my academic career, I’ve come to the realization that I was very impatient.

In middle school and high school, I was so eager to find out who I was and what I was meant to be. Let’s be honest, all I really needed back then was to find a way to remember my locker combination. I stressed so much about who I was supposed to spend my time with and which boy in math class could help me figure out last night’s algebra homework.

Classes never failed to stress me out as well. It seemed as if I was competing for the highest amount of AP credits and, well, if Johnny Joe was taking three AP classes, it was obvious that I had to take at least that much. In that moment, those classes seemed SO important.

As I have come to realize their ability to strengthen me academically, I wish they hadn’t caused me that much stress. If I was more patient, I think I would have realized the calm coming ahead. I wasn’t very patient with my abilities and myself at the time, and it led me to eagerly follow the crowd.

While applying for colleges, I found myself being very impatient. ACT scores needed to come back ASAP, and I HAD to do well on that very first try. Unfortunately, things don’t happen that easily (at least not for me). I wanted that good score now. Following ACT scores, I was so anxious to pick a college, and always felt like I was behind my friends in decision-making.

What I wish I knew was that things fall into place. They will. It’s okay to not know what you want to do with your life; it’s okay if you have no idea what school to go to (psst… Marquette’s great!), and it’s okay to not know what’s next!

It’s about my tenth week here at Marquette, and I can confidently say that things fell into place. All the worries and frustrations weren’t worth the extra stress. I remember working so hard while somehow expecting more from myself. You can’t do it all, and as long as you put forth your best effort, things will fall into place if you’re patient. You’ll find those friends who are mirror images of you. Just because you didn’t find them in high school, doesn’t mean they aren’t on their way into your life. You’ll be where you’re meant to be. If that one point on your ACT couldn’t get you there, and no matter how hard you tried you couldn’t bump up that GPA, those hardships can bring you to even greater places… if you’re patient.

There’s a plan for you, and even if you don’t believe it, be patient. Because one day, you might be in the library of your freshman year of college and it might just hit you that you’re doing everything right.

0 Responses to “Patience: An Underestimated Virtue”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


