Tell Me Something Good

confetti_5878997537By Sabrina Bartels

This past week, one of my students mentioned that he finally got to go see a Marquette basketball game. He was so excited to share this experience with me, and immediately launched into a description of the arena, the players, and how cool it was seeing a court that has hosted Marquette alums Dwayne Wade, Jimmy Butler, and Steve Novak. He spoke about how near it was seeing all of the student section, wearing their blue and gold t-shirts, turn their backs on the opposing team when they were announced, and how his favorite part was when the student section threw confetti in the air to celebrate Marquette’s first basket of the game.

This made me smile for so many reasons. It’s been a little bit since I went to a Marquette game, and even longer since I attended a game and stood in complete awe of what was going on around me. If I really think about it, I can remember the very first time I attended a basketball game: I was with a bunch of girls from my floor, and as we were walking in, some upperclassmen gave us a bunch of newspaper. We were perplexed until we saw all the students around us ripping the paper into tiny squares. We automatically followed suit. And when Marquette scored their first basket that night, everyone threw their confetti in the air. As it rained down on us, I remember thinking that there was no way any moment was more perfect than that one.

It’s been four years since I started counseling, and sometimes I worry that I have lost some of the wonder and awe associated with my job. Sometimes, I forget what drew me to counseling in the first place. Some days, I am so exhausted and frustrated with the drama associated with being a middle schooler that I miss some of the fun, charming moments. I miss the lessons that I’m learning. I’m so fixated on what is “wrong” that I’m not always thinking about the positive, good things that are happening at work and in my world.

So I decided to start writing down some of the good parts of my day, to remind me why it is that I’m a counselor. Here are some of my favorite things:

  • A parent told me that I’m someone her daughter really trusts.
  • A kid stopped me in the hall on my way out the door. She told me to go home and eat because I “work way too hard.”
  • A student told me I was beautiful (never mind that the next words out of her mouth were “for being that old!”)
  • I spent some time with one of my students helping him catch up on work. The smile on his face when he finished it all was amazing.
  • A bunch of our Student Ambassadors made posters and visited classrooms to promote our food drive. Having students conquer their fear of public speaking and give a mini presentation to the classes was a great moment to watch.
  • Hearing our Student Ambassadors talk about our food pantry and community closet. We recently started our food pantry and community closet. Parents can donate to it, and they can take what they need from it. When explaining this to our Student Ambassadors, all of them were very compassionate. Many wanted to know what they could do to help, from volunteering to help organize the pantry, to donating more clothes and food to help stock our shelves.
  • A few of my students volunteered to help a student with Down’s Syndrome. They let him eat lunch with them and taught him how to play Uno.

Take the time to remember the good things!

0 Responses to “Tell Me Something Good”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What is a Marquette Educator?

Follow us on Twitter

Archives


